Common Core

Recently came across this video where a student very courageously speaks out against the data-driven policies of contemporary education policy. As a teacher, I am extremely moved by this student’s heart and maturity of understanding by questioning the very purpose of education. Though it would be easy for me to complain about the current state of affairs, I know that I am not a perfect teacher, I make mistakes, and I am tired. Teachers are tired. So I’m not sure how much fight we have in us to fight an imperfect system. Who will fight for us?

Leave a Reply

