buried treasure

There is a scene in Disney’s Peter Pan that I think so profound and so overlooked: the opening scene at the Darling residence. The most important part of the entire movie is what happens when Pan isn’t there. At the beginning we see a frantic, imperfect father, disconnected with his children who search for some sort of escape (from what though? are their lives that bad? boring? dull?). Anyways, what always caught my attention as a child was the scene where the father goes crazy over his cufflinks (which I pronounced cufflings). We find out later that Michael, the youngest Darling, had hidden them because they were his buried treasure.

I followed suit.

My own dad had cufflinks. I had no idea what they were and what their function was. I cannot even begin to fathom how I picked out my dad’s cufflinks out of all his possessions as my buried treasure. Now that I think of it, it might have to do with the fact that my dad’s cufflinks were actually old coins (treasure… get it?). I played with them all the time, trying to recreate that opening sequence from Peter Pan, except my father was not as nearly neurotic and my sister did not have the same appreciation for that particular Disney film. My dream sequence was short lived, but alas… the cufflinks have gone missing. All these years my Dad knew that I used to play with them and when they went missing he liked to think that it was I who did the losing. But no more! Now that I am older, wiser, and have a paycheck, the treasure has been restored and my father no longer cufflink-less.

2 thoughts on “buried treasure

Leave a Reply

