“next year”

I love my 7th period class for multiple reasons, but mostly because I feel I can be the most human and natural. Though at times this is bad because I get lost in what I want to do versus what I should be doing as a teacher. In any case my 7th period class has a roster of less than 10 wonderful students. Collectively they are the most mature, interesting characters in the freshman class and in a moment of playfulness and in all seriousness they confessed that I was the best teacher. 

Pride aside this is what I needed to hear. After being observed countlessly, reminded of how much I am not doing a good job, my students finally affirmed what I do. 

A student goes, “Miss, are you teaching Study Skills this summer?”

“No,” I reply, “there is no summer school for this class.”

“What? I’m going to try O.D. hard to fail so I can have you again next year…” 

Leave a Reply

