Why English?

Out of all subjects supposedly English is the hardest to teach.

While other content areas have the grace of these things called curriculum, the English Language Arts are completely subjective. How do we teach how to interpret? How do we teach what to think?

What I teach is heavily based on what I know – and my knowledge is dearly limited.
What I teach is heavily based on what I do – and I can always do more.

How can I demand my students to write poetry, essays, narratives if I do not do so myself? Is the argument, then, that I have already once done all? But once is not enough, nay, and twice no better because English… English Language is craft. Mine, very much lacking in eloquence and consistency above all.

So why did I choose English?

Leave a Reply

