I don’t know what made me think this would be easy and the actual expectation was and still is that teaching is one of the hardest professions there is. Considering my personal characteristics: procrastination being at the top of the list, it’s hard to think why I would have ever ventured on this pedagogical path. I’ll admit it and immortalize this in cyberspace: I am struggling.

There’s no other way to put it. My procrastination is in full effect, why? Because I’d rather push my responsibilities aside than face them head on. I’m asserting a sense of control over the overwhelming and stressful nature of it all. There’s ups and downs and they’re not that extreme but it’s never stagnant. Some would say that this is something to be grateful for – however, it does not give room for rest (which I give too much to myself at times). Teaching is hard; it’s not 9-5, it’s 24/7; there’s no “leave your work at work”. It’s expectations, standards, follow-through, accountability and the works.

I don’t know why I thought it was easy and when you really think about what teaching really is, it’s quite obvious: It shouldn’t be easy.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

