substitute

Substitute teachers get a bad rep, but for good reason. I had this man come into my classroom this past week — a tall, white, old man in a class of your stereotypical inner-city kids. Don’t get me wrong. I have nothing against caucasians… but he became the stereotype and enforced the stereotypes of a white teacher in a non-white school. He did everything he could possibly do to make the class suck. Interrupting students to interject with his opinions, expecting nothing, reprimanding with no basis for respect, demanding respect without earning it… How does he expect to get demand of a class of 32 when they do not even know who he is nor what he’s doing there.

Furthermore, he was on a power trip. Yes, i’m a “student-teacher” but hey, I’ve been with them since January so let me do my thing, eh?
One thought on “substitute

Leave a Reply

