notebook check

Today I was a notebook grading machine! I had to have checked at least 30 notebooks in one sitting. I’m quite impressed with my stamina yet so utterly disappointed at the quality of work done by my students.

I don’t understand.
They complained that when we read Down These Mean Streets by Piri Thomas, that we were dragging it on too much and that they were getting bored and I’ve really picked up the pace with Cat on a Hot Tin Roof by Tennessee Williams, yet they have NO NOTES. They had all these wonderful, detailed notes for Thomas’ book but none for Williams. Why? WHY?

I know why… rule number one: students cannot multitask the way others do. I must give them time to write something as simple as the “focus” of the day or other notes.

Leave a Reply

