Les Poemes Francais

“Être verbs take agreement with the sub-jecttt—” is what my High School french teacher of three years chanted in the front of the classroom. Her hands simply poised, angled out on each side of her petite body taking the classic “ohm” form. I guess her chanting worked seeing that I still remember it now, even though I never actually apply it. Her name is Madame Caracciolo and she amongst many fine educators enriched my life.
Yes… my LIFE.
She would often give us lyrics to her favorite french song like “Octobre” or “Je t’aimais, Je t’aime et Je t’aimerai” or to one of her favorite poems. She left blanks in the handouts as a means to learn new vocabulary and to enhance our ability to hear the language for what it is.

The following poem has stalked me since the day it met me. Popping up in 10th grade, recited by a fellow classmate in my sophomore year of college, and again handed out (with blanks) in my French class today and I love it.

Déjeuner du Matin by Jacques Prévert
Il a mis le café
dans la tasse
Il a mis le lait
dans la tasse de café
Il a mis le sucre
dans le café au lait
avec la petite cuiller
Il a tourné
Il a bu le café au lait
et il a reposé la tasse
Sans me parler

Il a allumeé
une cigarette
Il a fait des ronds
avec la fumée
Il a mis les cendres
dans le cendrier
Sans me parler
Sans me regarder

Il s’est levé
Il a mis
son chapeau sur sa tête
Il a mis son manteau de pluie
parce qu’il pleuvait
et il est parti
sous la pluie
Sans une parole
Sans me regarder

Et moi j’ai pris
ma tête dans ma main
et j’ai pleuré

Une Poème d’Alexandria Lee et Jennifer DeCresente
J’ai decouvert une clé
et j’ai trouv
é la porte de la clé
mais j’ai essay
é et
sa n’est pas march
é
J’ai cherch
é pour la clé correcte
J’ai cherch
é ici et j’ai cherché la
J’ai voulu chercher tout la monde.
J’ai rencontr
é quel q’un qui m’a connu.
Moi, je n’ai pas connu lui.
Il a donn
é moi la clé correcte et
nous avons ouvert la porte.
Nous avons ouvert la porte
et je suis all
ée.

One thought on “Les Poemes Francais

  1. you have no idea how much i wish i could read french… there’s a french song i really like! you should explain it to me someday! lolol :)

Leave a Reply

